Week 2 Post Tyler Bass

As I dig farther into my research, I am finding some very interesting facts about the iconic photo “Prisoner Execution.” As I said in my last post, I researched more into the prisoner himself and why there were such extreme measures being taken. I found out the Viet Cong Lieutenant had been responsible for murdering twelve people including a family friend of Loan (the executioner) who was a South Vietnamese colonel, his wife and their six children. Adams quoted “(General Loan) shot him in the head, walked away and walked past us and said, “They killed many of my men and many of our people.”” Adams also talks about how would you react in that position. In my last blog I talked about how Adams regrets taking the photo because of several reasons. In a report Adam says, “How do you know you wouldn’t have pulled that trigger yourself? You have to put yourself in that situation…It’s war.” After sitting back and thinking about it, how this guy just killed your best friend and his entire family including 6 children. There is a very strong emotional impact on somebody that would blur someone’s mind and make it hard to think clearly in such a chaotic time.

On another site I found more interesting facts about this game-changing photo. There was an Italian designer and photographer Oliviero Toscani who compared “Prisoner Execution” to a 1598 painting “Judith Beheading Holofernes,” by Caravaggio. I will try to attach a picture onto my post. The painting depicts a graphic beheading of a man that looks helpless and innocent just like in “Prisoner Execution.” The painting is disturbing to look at and I do not know who would want to paint such a thing, but I have a feeling it impacted a large population of people in big ways, just as Adam’s photograph did to America.

http://www.google.com/images

http://www.cah.utexas.edu/db/dmr/gallery_lg.php?gallery=eddie_adams&t=28&s=3  http://iconicphotos.wordpress.com/2009/04/22/the-execution-of-a-vietcong-guerilla/

Image

One thought on “Week 2 Post Tyler Bass

  1. Tyler, nice job overall. I like this comparison that you’ve made to this painting. Watch your proofreading here; there are a couple of errors in the post.

    Also, please check to make sure your links work. Neither of them brought me to the pages you looked at.

Leave a Reply

