Jan Rose Kasmir Blog Post 5

The interest and excitement I have about my group’s photograph and the woman, Jan Rose Kasmir, who Marc Riboud took the photo of is growing exponentially with every email Kasmir and I share. I have now received the first email of her answering some particular questions that I originally asked. Unfortunately, I doubt she will ever be able to answer all of my questions because with every reply I find new curiosities evolving. Nonetheless, what she has shared with me thus far has already given me a great deal of information.
What is so wonderful about communicating with Kasmir, herself, is that I am not trying to sort through whether information on the web is true or credible, for I am talking to the most credible source there is, besides Marc Riboud.
One thing that stuck me about her latest email is when she mentioned the anger many Americans had towards protestors, thinking they “were anti-American” and how many of these people felt the mentality of “My country – love it or leave it.” This did not surprise me so much in the way that some Americans believed in the war and some did not, but rather it begged the question of how the society treated soldiers when they returned home. Cleary, soldiers in that time were not treated as heroes, like we treat soldiers today, but I wanted to know just what Kasmir felt and saw in relation to that point. Especially because she was like not many other protestors in the way she believed. It grabbed at me to realize that she went into the protest believing those National Guard soldiers, like others “were the war machine,” but when she was that close to them she realized they were victims too. Soldiers are doing their job, and similar to protestors are fighting for what they believe in while working to keep our country safe.
In addition to this possibly opinionated question I was curious as to if anyone ever recognized her, not for the many great deeds she did, but as the young Jane Rose Kasmir from that picture. She was able to enlighten me on all of the magazines and other areas that she knows of her photographed being published, and with that much publicity I wanted to understand if she ever felt like a celebrity. Does she have many conversations with students or others like she is carrying on with me? With this I would like to be clear that a photo of our latest emails is included in this post and I would urge everyone to look at all of the amazing groups Kasmir began in her life, and the goals she is still wishing to aspire towards. For example she is planning on returning to school to become a rabbi and then dedicate the rest of her life to pursuing peace. Honestly, the more I learn about her life and all of its aspects the more I am intrigued to keep up the research.
The last questions I asked of her this time were about her relationship with Marc Riboud. I am aware that he is an elderly man now, but I have tried to email him and have not heard anything back yet. I wanted to know about how they ever got in touch, and about when Riboud finally learned who the young woman was that he photographed that day at the Pentagon. What makes these questions so important is because of the protest Kasmir and Riboud both attended in London; I wanted to know if they planned on both being there.
Noticeably, I have acquired much information, yet have even more that I wish to understand. Just a few other points to hit are that the Look Magazine from 1969 finally came in with the picture published, and as of now I am looking into finding even more areas where this iconic photo was published.

4

5

One thought on “Jan Rose Kasmir Blog Post 5

  1. Oliva, Nicely done. You should start thinking about how you’re going to organize your paper and what aspects of your email interviews with JRK you’re going to focus on in your paper. I say that because there will reach a point when you have so much material that you’re going to feel overwhelmed. I think if you can begin to center on some key themes now, you’ll benefit come November.

    The Look magazine microfilm arrived. I’ll bring it to campus on Monday

Leave a Reply

