Alec Presley, Kent State Post 6

These past two weeks I haven’t been keeping up with my research as much as I should’ve been as a result of some other projects I’ve been working on. However, what I have gotten done has been incredibly helpful.

The first thing is that I was able to email Mary Ann Vecchio, the subject of my photo, and Alan Canfora, another student who was injured during the shooting at Kent State. I’ve sent my emails to them today, but it was somewhat late in the day, so I’m not expecting any responses until tomorrow. My email to Vecchio was a little more detailed since she was actually in the photo and would obviously have more connection to the response it would have received. However, Conga will still be a valuable resource.

I also finally got around to printing off the magazine articles I talked about in my 3rd Post. These were two issues of Rolling Stone, one from 1970 and the other from 1971. I’m not quite sure how much the first issue will help me, but it talks about the massacre so I just printed it off anyways. It might help someone in my group. The second issue actually talks about my photo, and even has a really cool painting looking version of the image.

Finally, I was sent two articles that pertain to my photo. The first was “The Anti-Vietnam War Pieta” by Jerry M. Lewis. The article was photo copied from a book, and the copy was pretty rough. Fortunately, I was able to Google the book it came from. Hopefully I can find it on Ebsco or something, but if not I might just see how cheap I can get it on my Kendal. From what I did manage to read I came to the realization that this is going to be my primary source. The other article was “Images and Icons of May 4, 1970: ‘One of the top 25 Photos of the Century.’” This one I will be able to use based entirely on the photo copy. This article won’t be as helpful as the other one, but it’s still pretty nice to have. It has both Filo and Vecchio talking about their experiences on that day.

2 thoughts on “Alec Presley, Kent State Post 6

  1. Ok, quick update. I’m not sure why, but both the emails I thought I sent, did not get sent. I have emailed Canfora and explained what happened. As it would turn out, I didn’t do a good enough job reading one of the emails I got sent by one of the people at Kent State, and so I thought I had Vecchio’s email when I really didn’t. The email I thought was sent to her was addressed to the woman from Kent State who sent me that email I misread. I can’t remember how I got mixed up since it was a fall break ago, but I think it had something to do with Canfora being CCed on an email and me assuming the same was true for Vecchio.

  2. Alec,

    Good job with the research. You have a lot of sources to work with now. I was very interested in the artistic rendering of the Kent State photo that was run in Rolling Stone. Maybe that’s something you can discuss in your oral presentation?

    Do watch your spelling. I’d run spellcheck before you post.

Leave a Reply

