Olivia W. – Jan Rose Kasmir Blog Post 7

Unfortunately, my communication with Jan Rose Kasmir has lacked within the past few weeks; however, I am working to get back in touch with her.  In the mean time I have created a good plan for the shape my paper will take.  Knowing exclusively what I want to write about helps so when I do speak with Kasmir I will have a plan of specific questions I would like to ask her.

Clearly, due to the fact that I have had the wonderful opportunity to communicate with her, and she has been so willing to share her feelings, memories, and beliefs with me a large amount of my paper will be based off of the interviews I have had with her.  I think it will be very important in regards to my part of the paper, immediate impact, to discuss the life of Kasmir.  For instance, I will include the difference between her and the hundreds of other protestors at the March on the Pentagon.  In addition, I am going to spend a smaller amount of time discussing Marc Riboud.  As I have written in my past blog post he is suffering from Alzheimer’s, but even though I cannot get in touch with him it will be important to have his background in the paper.  Especially when discussing how he decided to photograph Kasmir, and when specifically he did so.  This leads to the discussion of Kasmir and Riboud and their relationship.  After the two finally met I realize they shared a connection throughout many years.  This is an aspect, which I am still waiting to hear back from Kasmir about, but I believe the information will be of great help to my paper and to discussing the emotions of the time.  Following that information I am going to include the public and political response.  This has much to do with the March on the Pentagon, and people beginning to share and spread the belief that the war is wrong.

In fact, I have another piece of research, which Dr. Renoff printed off for me and it is about the events that occurred at the Pentagon on 21 October 1967.  The information that is included is interesting because it adds more details to the description of what happened that day.  A statement that caught my eye is a report, which says “a soldier reportedly dropped his rifle, removed his helmet, and walked towards the protestors.  He’d had enough, he was switching sides.”  This, in itself, is a remarkable statement, which will have much affect when describing what the National Guard soldiers were like and how Kasmir viewed them.  In addition to that the research says that “women got the worst of it” referring to the violence between the protestors and the soldiers.  This statement makes me wonder why Kasmir was not terrified when she was talking to the soldiers and was standing so close to their weapons.

In the end, my research paper will also include the popularity of the photo, which I discussed in previous posts.  Also, the message that the photo carried with it to the public, out of all of the war photos this photo is of practicing peace.  The one word that is not associated with war, yet Riboud captured it perfectly.

One thought on “Olivia W. – Jan Rose Kasmir Blog Post 7

  1. Olivia, Nice work here. Is this 1967 article from the New York Times? Do be sure to list your sources in your posts. Let me know if you have trouble when it comes to organizing your paper.

Leave a Reply

